I am just shy of a month away from my 50th birthday. So I decided to check out what was happening 50 years ago and found these cool websites. I didn’t know that zip codes were invented 50 years ago in 1962 I wonder what did they use before them. Hummm.
50 50 50 50 50 50 50 50 50 50 years….. GOSH when did that happen!!! Celebrate Embrace it…… More to Come….

 

 

Zip Codes First Introduced  November, 28 196

U.S. Postmaster General J. Edward Day announced the “Zoning Improvement Plan” (Get it, Z.I.P) on November 28, 1962. The system was actually implemented on July 1, 1963.

Although originally intended only for the very largest postal customers,   the general public quickly became convinced (thanks in no small part to some heavy advertising) that their mail would be delivered more quickly if they used the zip codes.There was widespread usage, even before its use became mandatory.

Of course we all know in 1964 of a certain band that hit the streets so to speak The Beatles came to be on the ED Sullivan and the website http://www.theblaze.com/stories/2014/02/09/it-was-50-years-ago-today/  tell all about it. 

I also found those born 50 years ago  famous people like well Sandra Bullock, Michelle Obama, Glenn Beck, even Sarah Palin and Courtney Love all turn 50 this year and the website that tells you all that is http://www.ranker.com/list/famous-people-born-in-1964/reference  so I don’t think I look too bad for a month shy of 50:) I been told I look 40 due to my young genes.

So as I approach my half century mark gosh that sounds old but I do plan to live a ripe spunky life soo check out these sites because you would be surprise what happened 50 years ago….

 

